## **Faculty Senate Agenda Item**

Number: **08-09** 

SUBJECT: Revision to the Composition of the Academic Affairs Committee (AAC)

DESCRIPTION: The Faculty Senate Constitution, as approved by the General Faculty and the Board of Regents (March 11-12, 2005), contained the following description of the Academic Affairs Committee (AAC):

"The Academic Affairs Committee shall be chaired by the Vice President of the Senate. Other members shall include one Senate member from each Major Academic Unit (CAS, SOB, SON, SAS), and the Senate representative of Mabee Library/CRC. The Deans from the Major Academic Units, or their designates, and the VPAA or his/her designate, will serve as ex officio, non-voting members."

http://www.washburn.edu/admin/bor/031105.FacSenConstitutionRevised.html

For unknown reasons, the aforementioned description of the AAC composition was omitted from the working copy of the Faculty Senate Constitution. It was the decision of the Faculty Senate to compose the AAC in a manner identical to that of the Faculty Affairs Committee. During the 2007-2008 academic year, the General Faculty approved the composition of the AAC to be as follows:

"Membership of the Academic Affairs Committee consists of one Faculty Senate member from each Division within the College of Arts and Sciences, one from the School of Business, one from the School of Nursing, one from the School of Applied Studies, and one member from the University libraries, each elected for a one-year term by the Faculty Senate from its ranks. The committee selects its own chairperson. Decisions of the Academic Affairs Committee require the affirmative vote of six of the nine members; six members shall constitute a quorum to conduct business."

RECOMMENDATION: One concern with the makeup of the AAC is that the voting power of the College of Arts and Science exceeds that of each of the remaining major academic unit and is greater than all of the other units combined. For these reasons, it is requested that the composition of the AAC to be as follows:

"The Academic Affairs Committee shall consist of two (2) Faculty Senate member from each Major Academic Unit other than the School of Law, and the Senate representative of Mabee Library/CRC. Each member will be elected to a one-year term by the Faculty Senate from its ranks. The committee selects its own chairperson. Decisions of the Academic Affairs Committee require the affirmative vote of six of the nine members; six members shall constitute a quorum to conduct business"

FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS: NONE.

Date: August 15, 2008 Mike Russell (Electronic Signature)
FS member